Search Roosevelt University
Auditorium and Wabash buildings from the south

Facts at a Glance

(as of March 2018)
More in this section...


Reflecting the ideals of its founders in 1945, Roosevelt University is a private, nonsectarian community of educators, scholars, and learners committed to academic, creative, and service excellence who value differences in personal experiences and perspectives; ask the difficult questions; and promote mutual understanding, inclusion, social consciousness, and action toward social justice. Recognizing that difference broadens perspectives, Roosevelt University seeks and serves a diverse, promising student body from metropolitan Chicago and around the world.

The hallmarks of the Roosevelt University experience are strong student-faculty interaction and engagement with metropolitan Chicago as both a laboratory for learning and as an expression of its commitment to social justice. The experience is created through the efforts of a strong faculty dedicated to excellence in teaching, research, and creative activity and a staff equally focused on helping students grow and achieve their educational and life goals.

Roosevelt is a metropolitan university that is an active partner in the social, economic and cultural development of the communities it serves. It offers a broad array of academic programs, from the baccalaureate through doctoral levels, in a highly interactive environment where students can explore, discover, and develop their unique abilities and interests.


Roosevelt University is nationally recognized for providing transformational experiences and opportunities for discovery that create socially conscious citizens who are leaders in their professions and their communities.

Motto “Dedicated to the Enlightenment of the Human Spirit”
Founded 1945
Founder Edward J. Sparling
President Ali R. Malekzadeh, PhD
Students 4,457 total enrollment
2,514 undergraduate students
1,943 graduate and doctoral students
Faculty 208 full-time faculty
87% of full-time faculty hold a PhD or equivalent degree
Student/Faculty Ratio 11:1
Average Class Size <19
Academics 5 colleges: College of Arts and Sciences, Heller College of Business, College of Education, Chicago College of Performing Arts, College of Pharmacy
Degree Programs 73 undergraduate majors and 38 minors
46 graduate programs
3 doctoral programs
Campuses Chicago: 32-story vertical campus and historic Auditorium Building in downtown Chicago’s South Loop neighborhood
Schaumburg: 225,000-square-foot facility on 27 acres of land 30 miles outside of downtown Chicago in northwest suburban Schaumburg
Additional Accolades Second-best college location in Illinois (Niche College Rankings 2018)
Second-tallest university building in the United States (Collegefinder 2014)
Third-most ethnically diverse college in the Midwest (U.S. News & World Report 2018)
Sixth-best residence hall in Illinois (Niche College Rankings 2018)