Participants enjoy the 2024 Student Leadership Awards and Etiquette Dinner

The Center for Student Engagement and Intercultural Experiences and the Office of Career Services were delighted to present the 2024 Student Leadership Awards and Etiquette Dinner. According to Director of Student Engagement Kayla Linsner, “Student Leadership takes many different forms, from positional leadership in clubs and organizations to leadership within the community both at Roosevelt and at large.” This awards presentation acknowledges student leaders from a multitude of campus organizations, including the Student Government Association, the Student Activity Fee Allocation Committee, Resident Assistants and more. 

Each of the Student Leadership Award winners were nominated by University students, faculty and staff members. The award recipients are also distinguished by having GPAs of 3.0 or above. Here are the 2024 Student Leadership Award Winners:

Eleanor Roosevelt Social Justice Award

This award is given to a student who has shown a concern for underrepresented groups and has improved the lives of others regarding social justice issues. Winners this year were:

  • Autumn Kelly, for her great accomplishments through the Food and Hygiene Pantry and her involvement in other areas on campus.
  • Honorable Mention Kay Dietrich, who founded the Advocacy for Invisible Illnesses and Disabilities to call attention to the special needs of students.

Make a Difference Award

This award is given to a student who has committed their time, energy and resources to making a difference volunteering in the community and has made a difference at Roosevelt University. The winner is year is Elizabeth Valdivia, for her exceptional dedication and commitment to both her academic pursuits, her community involvement and interpersonal relationships.

Ashanti McCall Rising Star Award

This award is given to a student leader who has shown tremendous growth over the past academic year and is an emerging leader in the Roosevelt University community. This year's winner is Treasure Thomas, for undergoing a remarkable transformation, showcasing exceptional commitment, leadership and a genuine dedication to making a positive impact on and off campus.

The Guazzini First-Year Student Engagement Award

This award recognizes four first-year students for their accomplishments and involvement throughout the first-year experience. Winners this year were:

The Guazzini Student Leadership Award

This award recognizes one junior each year who must have an outstanding record of student involvement both in a participatory and leadership role. This year's winner is Maggie Walker, who currently serves as a Student Trustee for the Student Government Association and President of Phi Alpha Theta.

Student Organization of the Year

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the Roosevelt University community by a registered student organization. The winning organization is the Black Student Union, for their exceptional impact on campus and organizing a multitude of engaging events that attracted substantial attendance (the highest of all student organizations).

Advisor of the Year

This award is presented to an advisor who has contributed significant time, energy and resources outside of her/his job at the University to a registered student organization. The winner this year is Nancy Inkertsiah, for serving as the advisor for the Black Student Union (BSU) for the past two years, and for her dedication, support and mentorship that have been instrumental in the organization's growth and success.

Student Leaders of the Year Award

Through their leadership skills and initiative, nominees have made a significant impact on the Roosevelt community throughout the past year and in their career as a Roosevelt student. The winners are:

  • Karena Blue, who has exemplified exceptional leadership skills and initiative, and making a significant impact on the Roosevelt community throughout the past academic year.
  • Elizabeth Montoya, who was nominated due to her remarkable dedication, leadership skills and continuous growth.
  • Olivia Van De Ven, who has made a tremendous impact as Student Government Association President the last year and a half.
  • Prudence Barajas Rodriguez, who has actively contributed to Roosevelt through their involvement in various departments such as HSI STEM as a Student Mentor, Career Services as a Career Services Advisor and Student Affairs as a Peer Mental Health Advocate.

Associate Dean of Students Meagan Jarmuz had this to say of Roosevelt’s student leaders:

I want to take a moment to acknowledge the leaders who came before all of us, first to have the courage to stand up and create a new path for students facing discrimination by founding Roosevelt University, and then to witness the courage we have all shown over the past several years by supporting each other while we transitioned back to completely in-person activities. It is truly a testament to the courage and tenacity of each of you and your desire to have the full collegiate experience.”

This fall, the Student Leadership Conference will be taking place on campus from August 20 and 21.

Related News ...

Angelina Lambert portrait with purple background

How the RU Proud president accelerated their education at Roosevelt and expanded opportunities for non-traditional students.

Three Latina students in Roosevelt t-shirts smile at each other.

The status is granted to universities with at least 25% of enrolled undergraduates that identify as Hispanic or Latino, and it allows the University to expand support services and grant applications for programs that assist first-generation Lakers.