2020 Presidential Awards for Social Justice

On April 8, President Ali Malekzadeh announced the 2020 winners of the Roosevelt University Presidential Award for Social Justice. The award — one of the highest honors bestowed in the University community — recognizes students, faculty and staff with an outstanding commitment to social justice.

This year’s recipients embarked on a broad range of projects to strengthen the University community. Winners expanded all-gender restroom access on campus, built social justice topics into the online research curriculum, and went above and beyond to advocate for trans students.

The three honorees were announced during the University’s Presidential Address. Watch the recorded live stream or read the full transcript here.

Barbara Anderson

Barbara Anderson is the head of instruction and learning in the Roosevelt library. She developed an academic library curriculum that centers social justice with an online research platform and lessons about information literacy. 

Barb has also championed a research learning outcome rubric to help faculty, students and research mentors understand expectations for student research while introducing social justice topics.

Professor Ray Frewen

Ray Frewen is an associate professor of theatre. He also serves as the director of the Theatre Conservatory and associate dean of the Chicago College of Performing Arts. 

Ray was honored for his work ensuring that trans students’ identities are recognized and supported. He “will not hesitate to fix wrongdoings that affect his students,” according to his nominator.

Jackson Newsome

Jackson Newsome is a student in Roosevelt’s clinical psychology doctoral program. The award recognized his contributions to a fairer and more accepting climate for gender and sexual minority (GSM) individuals. As an instructor, Jackson sought to provide an inclusive and respectful environment for GSM students. He chaired Roosevelt’s All-Gender Restroom Task Force, which has expanded restroom access on campus. 

As part of his clinical training, Jackson also provided culturally affirmative and responsive clinical services to many Chicago communities.

Related News...

Three Roosevelt students canoeing in the Chicago River watershed

Last year, students in the Urban Environmental Justice course released monarch butterflies in Little Village’s La Villita Park — a peaceful, verdant space on top of a Superfund cleanup site. The neighborhood has become a nexus of surging COVID-19 cases and pollution that students will investigate this fall with Professor Bethany Barratt.

Wabash Building and Auditorium Tower

Christina Dupee grew up attending the college graduations of her uncles and mother, which set the bar high for her own education. Several years and three graduate degrees later, Dupee is writing the dissertation for her doctorate in educational leadership.

David Faris discussing his book The Kids Are All Left on Good Day Chicago.

In The Kids Are All Left: How Young Voters Will Unite America (Melville House), Roosevelt University professor David Faris offers what Kirkus Reviews calls a “convincing and rousing argument” for how young voters will shatter the partisan stalemate.