Search Roosevelt University

Heller College introduces new Clearing Corporation Charitable Foundation fellows

Business, Academic & Artistic Excellence, An Inclusive Community, Real World Experience
More in this section...
2017-18 CCCF Fellows
The 2017-18 Class of CCCF Fellows includes (standing, from left): Edgar Leon, Roshni Patel, Krishma Sharma, Bridget Cascio, Lisa Hess, Patrycja Kobeszko; and (seated from left): Balint Hodos, CCCF Fellows Executive Director and Professor of Finance and Accounting Tanweer Hasan, Rita Ardiu and Brenda Munoz
"Our aim is to see more diversity in the financial sector workforce.” David Johnson Clearing Corporation Charitable Foundation Board Member

Roosevelt University has named 10 undergraduate business students majoring in finance and accounting as prestigious Clearing Corporation Charitable Foundation (CCCF) fellows for the 2017-18 academic year.

Selected annually by Roosevelt’s Heller College of Business, CCCF fellows receive professional development and career training that pave the way for internship and employment opportunities in the U.S. financial sector.

With a long-term goal of promoting diversity in the financial workplace, the program so far has graduated 40 Roosevelt business students, the majority of whom are the first in their families to go to college. About 90 percent of program participants have landed internships, which in some cases have led to job placements.

Made possible by the Clearing Corporation Charitable Foundation, which initially gave $262,136 to start and sustain the initiative, the program is now in its third year. The foundation recently gave Roosevelt $1.04 million in July to continue the program through 2022.  Thanks to the gift, a two-year business honors program also will be launched in the fall of 2018.   

“Our aim is to see more diversity in the financial sector workforce,” said David Johnson, a CCCF board member and long-time supporter of Roosevelt University.  “After watching this program and its commitment to diversity in action, we are pleased to pave the way for its continuation full speed ahead.”

Tanweer Hasan, a Roosevelt finance & accounting professor and founding executive director of the CCCF Fellows Program, believes the initiative can be a launching pad for professional careers.

For instance, 2015-16 CCCF Fellow Arsennii Mashnin landed a job with a Chicago futures broker after graduating. Also, 2016-17 CCCF Fellow Allante Wallace won a major scholarship sponsored by the Financial Executive International (Chicago Chapter), in a competitive application process involving business students from seven Chicago-area universities. 

“Thanks to this gift, we will be able to upgrade our current program into a two-year CCCF Fellows Business Honors Program,” said Hasan. “Not only will students in this new program have opportunities for being paired with mentors, internships and ultimately jobs; they also will be able to get involved in faculty-led independent research projects and participate in off-site field trips.”  

This year’s fellows include three international students, five undergraduates from Chicagoland and two Roosevelt business majors who hail from out of state. 

They are:

  • Rita Avdiu of Pristina, Kosovo
  • Bridget Cascio of Westchester, Illinois
  • Lisa Hess of Elmwood Park, Illinois;
  • Balint Hodos, of Telford, United Kingdom 
  • Patrycja Kobeszko of Bialystok, Poland
  • Edgar Leon of Fox River Grove, Illinois
  • Brenda Munoz of Chicago
  • Jake Myers of Fayetteville, Arkansas
  • Roshni Patel of Des Plaines, Illinois
  • Krishma Sharma of Schaumburg, Illinois
Share this News Release:

Related News...

Common-Holder ADC 2018 picture

Roosevelt University will host the 3rd annual American Dream Reconsidered Conference on September 10-14, 2018 at the University’s Loop campus in Chicago, IL.

Carol Brown, associate professor and chair of hospitality and tourism management for Roosevelt’s Heller College of Business teaching a class

College rating website has named Roosevelt University’s Executive Master of Hospitality and Tourism Management as one of the nation’s 30 best online master’s in hospitality and tourism degree programs. The ranking recognized regionally or nationally accredited programs and/or schools and listed them in order of affordability, while also weighing recognition from other major publications.

Rose Colella, BM '02

Critically acclaimed jazz vocalist Rose Colella drives audiences and critics alike simply wild with her performances, with an “elegantly tipsy” voice that frequently headlines top jazz clubs around Chicago. She, however, also travels to myriad top clubs and venues around the country: here she is masterfully singing “You Made Me Love You” at the Metropolitan Room in New York City. She’ll be returning to The Big Apple on July 26, 2018 at 7 p.m. to perform at the Triad Theatre.