Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

HEEF Midwest Real Estate Challenge

Roosevelt Competes Again in the 2015 HEEF Competition 

"Once again Roosevelt University has a team competing in the Midwest Real Estate Challenge sponsored by the Harold Eisenberg Foundation.  The competition this year focuses on creating a plan for "capping" the expressway in Chicago's West Loop and stimulating new development which could possibly help pay for the "cap" as well.  The other schools competing include DePaul University, Marquette University, University of Illinois-Chicago, and University of Illinois-Champaign.  The five member team includes Mary Fran Gill, Hubie Greenwald, Daniel Gutman, Karli Mayher, and Ainsworth Thompson.  Ms. Gill has been designated the student team leader.  The team is once again being led by Adjunct Professor Dennis Harder and Jon Dennis assisted by Jon DeVries.  The team presentations will take place at the Standard Club on Saturday, April 11th, from 9:00-6:00.  Members of the university community and the real estate community are invited to come and hear the presentations - and cheer the team."

Roosevelt Wins Again!

Eisenberg Comp
Front Row: Jon DeVries, Dion Hickles, Liliana Gonzalez, Maggie Eison, Andre Collins, Victor Fragoso, Andrew Savoy
Back Row: Eric Williams, Dennis Harder and Emmanuel Kinard.

For the second consecutive year, Roosevelt University has been chosen as the winner of the Midwest Real Estate Challenge.  The competition also featured a runners-up category in which Notre Dame University and Marquette University tied.  A total of six universities competed.  The competing teams were: University of Illinois at Chicago,  Marquette University, DePaul University, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, University of Notre Dame and Roosevelt University. 

The Roosevelt team, comprised of eight graduate students in real estate, was awarded first place and a $5,000 scholarship for the school for it proposal titled The HUB, a mixed-use redevelopment of the former 1.4 million sq. ft. Marshall Field/Macy's warehouse a 4000 W. Diversey Avenue into new shipping and production uses, apartment units, data center, public library, and retail market.  In addition to designing a feasible program, the team analyzed how the project could provide new services, jobs, and taxes for the community.

My hearty congratulations to students Andre Collins, Maggie Eison, Emmanuel Kinard, Dion Hickles, Victor Fragoso, Eric Williams, Liliana Gonzalez, and Andrew Savoy for their innovative proposal and outstanding presentation.  Their academic advisors were adjunct professors Dennis Harder and Jonathan Dennis assisted by Professor Sofia Dermisi.  Their industry advisors were Steve Rachman, Marcus & Millichap and Terry McCollum Jr., McCollum Realty.

The Midwest Real Estate Challenge, in its fourth year, is sponsored by the Harold E. Eisenberg Foundation, which supports cancer research and real estate education.  Roosevelt's winning team will be recognized at the foundation's annual dinner on October 6, which attracts nearly 600 real estate and business leaders.  The Challenge trophy will soon be returning to Roosevelt and will be on display in the Marshall Bennett Institute of Real Estate at 425 S. Wabash, WB 1210.

Team 6 - Roosevelt University

Winning Presentation

Announcement of the winning team