Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

University Assessment Steering Committee (UASC)

Committee Members


Amusa Adebayo, College of Pharmacy  (Email: aadebayo02@roosevelt.edu )

Asia Mitchell, Office of Admission (Email: amitchell@roosevelt.edu )

Bob Seiser, College of Arts and Sciences (Email: rseiser@roosevelt.edu )

D. Bradford Hunt, College of Professional Studies (Email: dbhunt@roosevelt.edu )

Doug Knerr,  Provost, Schaumburg Campus (Email: DKnerr@roosevelt.edu )

Ester Rogers, Co-chair, Institutional Research, Assessment & Accreditation (Email: erogers@roosevelt.edu )

Joe Regan, Institutional Research, Assessment & Accreditation (Email: jregan@roosevelt.edu )

John McDonald, College of Business (Email: jmcdonald@roosevelt.edu  )

Ken King, College of Education (Email: kking@roosevelt.edu )

Kim Ruffin, Associate Provost for Graduate Studies (Email: kruffin@roosevelt.edu )

Kristin Broadwell, RU Online (Email: kbroadwell@roosevelt.edu )

Linda Jones, Co-chair, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies (Email: ljones@roosevelt.edu )

Martinique Haller, Library (Email: mhaller@roosevelt.edu )

Megan Bernard, Honors and Academic Programs (Email: mbernard@roosevelt.edu )

Priscilla Perkins, College of Arts and Sciences (Email: pperkins@roosevelt.edu )

Sam Rosenberg, Vice Provost for Faculty and  Academic Affairs (Email: srosenbe@roosevelt.edu )

Sarah Manzeske, Student Affairs (Email: smanzeske@roosevelt.edu )

Wes Brewer, Chicago College of Performing Arts (Email: wbrewer@roosevelt.edu




 

 

Charge of the UASC

The University Assessment Steering Committee (UASC) will serve the vital function of overall coordination for assessment projects at Roosevelt University.  The UASC reports directly to the Provost and is charged with strengthening the University assessment and program review process to ensure clear and disciplined self-assessment of our effectiveness as an institution.  The overarching goal of the UASC is to create a culture of data-driven continuous improvement. The committee collaborates with University leaders and committees to fulfill its charge and goals.  

 

Mission

The mission for the UASC is to promote excellence throughout Roosevelt University academic and non-academic units through the development of a faculty and staff led holistic assessment process. The primary function of the UASC shall be to advise, support and oversee student-centered learning assessment processes.

 

Committee Charge/Outcomes

The charge given the UASC by the Provost and Executive Vice President shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

 

  • Evaluate the consistency with the University's Mission and Strategic Plan as well as its strategic goals in all student-focused learning outcomes assessment.

     

  • Coordinate the development process of all student-centered learning outcomes assessment.

     

  • Educate, encourage, and engage faculty, staff, and students in establishing student-centered learning outcomes and their assessment within academic and co-curricular units.

     

  • Initiate and encourage assessment activities throughout the University including planning assessment training and establishing and maintaining an assessment webpage.

     

  • Make recommendations for improving assessment activities and the application of assessment results.

     

  • Examine and evaluate existing assessment practices, recommend new and different strategies for learning outcomes assessment where warranted and provide counsel aimed at improving and enhancing the effectiveness of all our student assessment practices.

     

  • Evaluate and recommend assessment instruments and software.

     

  • Provide the Provost/EVP with an annual report summarizing all institutional assessment activities for the prior year.

     

  • Develop a yearly calendar of assessment activities that will serve as the University's Assessment Plan.

     

  • Serve as a resource and consultation group to all those who engage in student-focused assessment.

     

  • Commit to serving as a representative of the UASC on a year-round basis

     

Membership

The Committee will consist of two co-chairs. Each college will have one faculty representative (CAS will have two) and key administrators, both academic and student personnel, will also be members.