Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo
  • Home
  • News and Events
  • Stellar year for Roosevelt's Theatre Conservatory as Jeff Award nominations roll in for students, alumni and faculty
Sean Kelley

Stellar year for Roosevelt's Theatre Conservatory as Jeff Award nominations roll in for students, alumni and faculty

Posted: 05/07/2012
More than a dozen of those nominated in all categories for this year’s prestigious Non-Equity Jeff Awards, recognizing the best in non-union Chicago-area theatre, are students, alumni and instructors at Roosevelt University’s Theatre Conservatory.

“This has been a stellar year for Chicago College of Performing Arts and our Theatre Conservatory,” said Sean Kelley, (pictured above), who is  associate dean of CCPA and director of the Theatre Conservatory.  “The number of people who have ties to the Theatre Conservatory and are nominated this year is truly extraordinary.”

Celebrating the vitality of Chicago-area theatre by recognizing individual achievements, this year’s Non-Equity Jeff Awards Ceremony will be held Monday, June 4 at the Park West in Chicago.

Two of five shows nominated for best Musical Production have Roosevelt University students in their casts. Will Aaron, a junior who is studying for his Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting, is in Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre’s Jeff-nominated The Light in the Piazza. Adam Fane, a senior studying for his Bachelor of Fine Arts in Musical Theatre, also is in the production as well as in the Griffin Theatre Company’s Spring Awakening, also nominated for best Musical Production.

“It’s been a fantastic year and I’m very honored to be a part of this,” said Fane. “We are all looking forward to the June 4 ceremony,” he added. Adam Malloy, a 2011 Roosevelt graduate in musical theatre, also was in the cast for Spring Awakening.“It’s been a great year and I am glad for the solid training I received at the University in musical theatre,” Malloy said. A number of other Roosevelt alumni also have been nominated for Jeff Awards including: Brian Grey, nominated for Principal Actor in a Play, for his role as Ned Lawrence in Caffeine Theatre’s The Oxford Roof Climber’s Rebellion; J.P. Pierson, nominated for Supporting Actor in a Play, for his role as Bunce in Eclipse Theatre Company’s One Flea Spare; Justin Adaire, nominated for Supporting Actor in a Musical for his role as Fabrizio Naccarelli in The Light in the Piazza; Khaki Pixley, nominated for Supporting Actress in a Musical for her role as Petra in Circle Theatre’s A Little Night Music; Adam Veness, an actor-turned-scenic designer and nominated for best Scenic Design for The Light in the Piazza, and who also is part of the cast for the Jeff-nominated musical production as well as for another Jeff-nominated  musical,  Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre’s  Pump Boys and Dinettes.

Two adjunct faculty members in Roosevelt’s Theatre Conservatory also have been nominated for the Jeff Awards. They are: instructor James Morehead for Music Direction in Bailiwick Theatre’s Passing Strange; and instructor Elise Kauziaric for Dialect Coach in Griffin Theatre’s Punk Rock.

“We have never had so many talented people from the Theatre Conservatory nominated for these awards.  Clearly our students, alumni and faculty are making a difference and are having an effect in the Chicago-area theatre community,” said Kelley. “I couldn’t be prouder of their accomplishments.”