Computer Account Deletion Policy
This policy defines how computer access shall be eliminated for members of different University constituencies when they are no longer associated with the institution. The University is required by law, regulation, and prudence to protect its information and its identity. Ensuring that only authorized individuals have access to its electronic resources is key to the effort to the effort to protect information and identity. An important element in this effort is to ensure that individuals who have left the University no longer have authorization to use its systems with some carefully defined exceptions.
- Banner accounts and accounts on other administrative systems are deleted immediately upon the departure of an individual account holder from the University. The remaining items in this policy apply to accounts on systems other than Banner.
- Student computer accounts will be deleted one year after the account holder leaves the University without graduating. Students who have graduated may keep their email account forever provided they login at least once a year.
- The computer accounts of students who have been suspended for any reason or declared inactive by the Registrar will be deleted immediately.
- Staff and administrator computer accounts will be deactivated immediately upon the departure of the account holder from the University. After 30 days, the account will be deleted. Upon request and approval by the CIO, the account holder may keep an account for up to six months for forwarding purposes only.
- Full-time faculty computer accounts will be deactivated immediately upon the departure of the account holder from the University, unless the account holder retires. After 30 days, the account will be deleted. Upon request and approval by the CIO, the account holder may keep an account for up to six months for forwarding purposes only.
- Emeritus faculty will keep their e-mail and other computer accounts indefinitely (except those on administrative systems).
- Full-time faculty who retire, but do not have emeritus status, will have their accounts deactivated three years after they leave the University. Three months after deactivation the account will be deleted.
- Accounts held by inactive adjunct faculty are deactivated in August of each year. If an adjunct faculty member has not taught a course during the previous academic year, his/her account will be deactivated. Three months after deactivation the account will be deleted.