Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Since our founding in 1945, Roosevelt University has been committed to the ideals of shared governance. Student Government continues to keep that commitment strong and relevant especially as our institution changes and grows. Now in the second decade of the 21st Century, students face new and often unexpected challenges.

Whether it’s rallying at the capitol in Springfield for greater student financial aid, or working with faculty and administrators to build relevant programs on campus, student government believes the Rooseveltian tradition of servant-leadership starts at home.

The Chicago Student Government Association is composed of two main branches: the executive board and the student senate.

Making up the executive board, the President, Vice-President, and Treasurer are each elected to a term of one academic year by the student body. The student trustee, representing the Chicago campus, who is nominated by the student senate and confirmed by the Board of Trustees, also serves on the executive board.

The executive board, following an application process open to all registered students in good academic and disciplinary standing, votes upon membership in the student senate. Senators serve on at least one internal committee (academics, campus life, communications, or political affairs) and one external university-wide advisory committee (bookstore, financial aid, library, etc.)

All registered students are considered general members of student government.

Meetings take place every Wednesday in Spertus Lounge of the Auditorium Building (AUD 244) from 5:00-6:00 PM. All are welcome! 

Know your Executive Board and Senators  | Get Involved! 

Stay connected and informed. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter:

Follow RU_SGA on Twitter