Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

CCPA on 98.7 WFMT

“Music from Roosevelt University” Series


Henry Fogel
Join Dean Henry Fogel as he explores the rich and vibrant history of Roosevelt University and the Chicago College of Performing Arts in this exciting 26-week radio series.  Dean Fogel will provide commentary for each program, and performances and interviews of faculty, students, and alumni will be heard.  Also joining us on select programs will be members of the Music Institute of Chicago.       

All programs will be broadcast live on the air and streaming online each Sunday from 4:00 to 5:00pm CST, unless noted otherwise below.   

To help support this programming, please click here.

This series is made possible by a generous grant from the Elizabeth F. Cheney Foundation.  

These broadcasts are also made possible by additional support from an anonymous donor and from Bija Bennett, Carolyn and John Borta, Jonathan Dedmon and Idalia Aguila, Bernard and Sally Dobroski, Bill and Diane Edmundson, Marsha and Michael Goldstein, Elliott and Mona Golub, Tom Latourette, and Element Financial Partners.

June 28, 2015: CCPA Professional Diploma in Opera Young Artists

Charles Gounod: “Salut! demeure chaste et pure!” from Faust
      Joe Shadday, tenor
      Scott Gilmore, piano 

Richard Wagner: “Selig, wie die Sonne” from Die Meistersinger
      Hans Sachs: Chistopher Remmel
      Eva: Brittany Loewen
      Walther: Errin Brooks
      Magdalene: Cassidy Smith
      David: Joe Shadday
      Scott Gilmore, piano 

Richard Strauss: Heimkehr, Op. 15, No. 5
                             Ach weh mir unglückhaftem Mann, Op. 21, No. 4
                             Der Nachtgang, Op. 29, No. 3
                             Heimliche Aufforderung, Op. 27, No. 3  
                             Im Spätboot, Op. 56, No. 3
Christopher Remmel, bass
      Scott Gilmore, piano

Giacomo Puccini: “In un coupè?” from La Bohème
      Marcello: Nicholas Davis
      Rodolfo: Errin Brooks
      Scott Gilmore, piano 

Ambroise Thomas: “Connais-tu le pays” from Mignon
      Cassidy Smith, mezzo-soprano
      Scott Gilmore, piano 

Robert Wright/George Forrest (Music adapted from Alexander Borodin): “And This Is My Beloved” from Kismet
      Marsinah: Helen Wyatt
      The Poet: Nicholas Davis
      Caliph: Joe Shadday
      Wazir: Andrew Simpson
      Scott Gilmore, piano                

Richard Strauss: Final scene from Ariadne auf Naxos
      Ariadne: Brittany Loewen
      Bacchus: Errin Brooks
      Najade: Kacey Kurpinsky
      Echo/Zerbinetta: Teaira Burge
      Dryade: Chelsea Gurtowsky
      Scott Gilmore, piano     

July 5, 2015 

Percy Grainger: Lincolnshire Posy
      CCPA Wind Ensemble
      Stephen Squires, conductor 

Richard Strauss, arr. Albert Ligotti: Vienna Philharmonic Fanfare  
      CCPA Brass and Percussion Ensemble
      Stephen Squires, conductor 

Paul Hindemith: Concert Music for Piano, Brass, and Harps
      CCPA Wind Ensemble
      Winston Choi, piano
      Stephen Squires, conductor
      Alizabeth Nowland and Gréta Ásgeirsson, harps 

Sergei Prokofiev, arr. Fisher Tull: “March” from The Love for Three Oranges
      CCPA Brass and Percussion Ensemble            
      Stephen Squires, conductor 

July 12, 2015 

Ludwig van Beethoven: 33 Variations on a Theme of Diabelli
      Adam Neiman, piano 

July 19, 2015 

Joaquin Turina, arr. Alfred Reed: La Procession du Rocio
      CCPA Wind Ensemble
      Stephen Squires, conductor 

Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major, D. 485
      CCPA Chamber Orchestra
      Emanuele Andrizzi, conductor 

Claude Debussy: Lindaraja for Two Pianos, L. 103
      Scott Gilmore and Ludmila Lazar, pianos   

Stuart Folse: Alleluia  
      CCPA Conservatory Chorus and Chorale
      Mark Crayton, conductor 

July 26, 2015 

Frédéric Chopin: Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Major, Op. 35 – Movements I and II
      Li Wang, piano 

Robert Schumann: Faschingsschwank aus Wien, Op. 26 – Movement I  
      Allison Wang, piano 

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 30 in E Major, Op. 109 – Movement III
      Stephen Uhl, piano 

Johannes Brahms: Three Intermezzi, Op. 117
      Mizi Li, piano