Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

fall 14 cover

Roosevelt Review

  • May 18, 2015
    With his novel being adapted for the big screen, author Rick Yancey (BA,’87) says Roosevelt "set me on the road to where I’m at today."
  • May 15, 2015
    As we turn the page on 70 years, we reflect on where we have been and speculate just a wee bit on where we might be going.
  • February 6, 2015
    For the vast majority of student-athletes, the chances of continuing a competitive sports career as a means to a living are slim to unrealistic. Student-athletes at Roosevelt are well aware of those odds and are using their education, athletic training and contacts throughout the University to help them obtain jobs in a variety of professions.
  • January 29, 2015
    Frank Westry came to Roosevelt University because he was looking for an excellent English program. But he was also influenced by his mother, alumna Martha R. Rice, who earned a Bachelor of Professional Studies degree in 2009 with a concentration in psychology. Her experience at Roosevelt was so transformative and welcoming that she persuaded her son to attend.
  • January 22, 2015
    Elizabeth Meadows, associate professor of elementary education, explains why the ideas of philosopher John Dewey are still relevant today.
  • January 7, 2015
    Roosevelt University’s social justice mission is being put into action by results-oriented graduates who are leading nonprofit organizations in Chicago and around the world.
  • December 18, 2014

    Family vacations can be a lot more fun if you watch alumna Colleen Kelly’s show on public television.

  • December 15, 2014
    The Auditorium Building – now the home of Roosevelt University and the Auditorium Theatre – is one of the great architectural treasures of the world.
  • November 26, 2014
    Since the release last spring of a study highlighting major inconsistencies in the way minor marijuana cases are handled in Illinois, Roosevelt University drug policy researcher Kathie Kane-Willis has been on a mission.
  • November 21, 2014
    On April 17, 2015, Roosevelt University will be 70 years old. To learn what Roosevelt was like during the past 70 years, Roosevelt Review invited seven alumni, one from each decade, to share their recollections and observations during a roundtable discussion with Review Editor Tom Karow.
  • November 21, 2014
    Resident assistant Brandon Rohlwing is blazing a trail for gender-inclusive housing and suicide prevention.
  • November 18, 2014
    We humans love to measure everything in units of time. We do it in many diverse and quite different ways. How long have you been married? How long have you worked at Roosevelt University? How long have you been a Chicagoan?
  • Remembering Gustav Gutman
    June 5, 2014

    I, like so many others, was glad to have him as a friend. “Gus was a first-class scientist, but more importantly a first-class human being,” said one of his colleagues.

  • Honor Role: The honors program celebrates its 15th year
    June 3, 2014

    Alexander Sewell, 25, readily attributes part of his political success to Roosevelt and the Honors Program. "I've been able to take what I learned in the Honors Program and apply it to my responsibilities in government,” he said. “My ability to think critically, analyze important issues through a diverse lens and understand the complex nuances of policy-making, particularly in urban communities, was honed in the Metropolitan Issues Concentration of the Honors Program.”

Past Issues